Gluten-free meals are no longer restricted to granola or oatmeal; thankfully, gluten-free versions of our favorite childhood cereals are now accessible! Cereals offer convenient gluten-free snacks and may also be used as gluten-free culinary substitutes.
In this post, we will look at some of the factors to consider when selecting a gluten free cereal, as well as examine a variety of cereals ideal for children of all ages! Therefore, whether you’re tired of your normal breakfast options, have just been diagnosed with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, or simply want to limit the quantity of gluten in your daily diet, keep reading to learn about some of the finest gluten free cereals now available.
Our favorite: Natures Path Golden Turmeric cereal, which is certified gluten free and organic, for something a bit unusual that will also remain crunchy when you pour on your milk!
Our Affordable Pick: The classic gluten-free favorite Rice Chex, which has been fortified for added nourishment and is great for family members of all ages!
- Quick Comparison: Top 10 Best Gluten Free Cereal
- 1. Nature’s Path Golden Turmeric Cereal
- 2. Rice Chex Gluten-Free Cereal
- 3. Kay’s Naturals Protein Breakfast Cereal Honey Almond
- 4. Nature’s Path Mesa Sunrise Cereal
- 5. Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Muesli Cereal
- 6. Three Sisters Barbara’s Puffins Multigrain Cereal
- 7. Nature’s Path Whole O’s Cereal
- 8. Frosted Cheerios Gluten Free Cereal by General Mills Cereal
- 9. Annie’s Organic Cinnabunnies Cereal
- 10. Nature’s Path Envirokids Frosted Amazon Flakes Cereal
- Considerations Before Purchasing Gluten-Free Cereal
Quick Comparison: Top 10 Best Gluten Free Cereal
|Nature’s Path Golden Turmeric Cereal||A|
|Rice Chex Gluten-Free Cereal||A|
|Kay’s Naturals Protein Breakfast Cereal Honey Almond||A-|
|Nature’s Path Mesa Sunrise Cereal||A|
|Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Muesli Cereal||A-|
|Three Sisters Barbara’s Puffins Multigrain Cereal||A-|
|Nature’s Path Whole O’s Cereal||B+|
|Frosted Cheerios Gluten Free Cereal by General Mills Cereal||A-|
|Annie’s Organic Cinnabunnies Cereal||A-|
|Nature’s Path Envirokids Frosted Amazon Flakes Cereal||A|
1. Nature’s Path Golden Turmeric Cereal
Natures Path Golden Turmeric cereal is a gluten-free flake cereal prepared from corn meal, yellow corn flour, quinoa, and amaranth and flavored with coconut flakes, vanilla, and cardamom, as well as the spices turmeric, cinnamon, ginger, and black pepper.
This is a unique taste cereal with undertones of sweetness and sharpness that will remain crunchy even after adding milk. This cereal is also USDA organic, Non-GMO Project Verified, and kosher certified. This comes in a six pack of 10.6 oz boxes, and the odd customer thinks the taste is a touch on the sweeter side. However, although the package boasts that the cereal would turn the milk golden, the turmeric seems to make little difference in the milk color.
2. Rice Chex Gluten-Free Cereal
Rice Chex is a cereal produced from wholegrain rice that comes in a variety of tastes, including gluten-free. This enriched 12 oz box of cereal provides vitamins A, Bs, and D3.
It has no high fructose corn syrup (HFCS), artificial colors, flavors, or preservatives, and it is kosher as well as gluten free. This cereal is more likely to break apart in the box than other gluten free cereals, and some buyers believe that the original gluten free may be bland.
3. Kay’s Naturals Protein Breakfast Cereal Honey Almond
Offered in 1.2 oz or 9 oz packets, Kays Naturals Protein Breakfast Cereal Honey Almond is certified gluten free as well as kosher. This cereal is richer in protein, with 12 grams of protein and 4 grams of fiber per serving.
It also has fewer than 3 grams of sugar, despite the fact that the serving size for this cereal is 1.2 oz. While it contains soy, it is non-GMO soy. Several customers were dissatisfied with the flavor, and it does dissolve rapidly when mixed with milk.
4. Nature’s Path Mesa Sunrise Cereal
Natures Path Mesa Sunrise is a gluten-free crispy flake cereal made with organic maize, buckwheat, quinoa, amaranth, and flax seeds. It is also USDA certified organic, Non-GMO Project Verified, kosher, and vegan.
This is a good source of omega 3s and has 4 grams of fiber and 4 grams of protein per serving. This cereal is sweetened organically with organic evaporated cane juice. The flavor isn’t for everyone, and the expiry dates seem to be shorter than those of other gluten-free cereals.
5. Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Muesli Cereal
Bobs Red Mill Gluten Free Muesli in European style comprises wholegrains, seeds, nuts, and dried fruits and may be eaten hot or cold. The oats for this gluten-free muesli are cultivated in oat-only fields and prepared in a dedicated gluten-free facility. It has also been batch tested for gluten, is dairy free, and is kosher certified.
A bowl of this muesli has 3 grams of protein and 4 grams of fiber and is available in 16 oz or 25 lbs. The label also includes some cooking suggestions. Several consumers have complained about the lack of flavor, particularly when compared to other varieties of muesli, while others have been unhappy that the rice crisps in this muesli become too mushy when cooked for a hot meal.
6. Three Sisters Barbara’s Puffins Multigrain Cereal
Barbaras Puffins multigrain cereal is gluten free and Non-GMO Project Verified. It is produced from maize, rice, and oats. This pillow cereal is also vegan and kosher, with 6 grams of sugar, 8 grams of wholegrains, and 3 grams of fiber per serving. It also contains vitamins C and D, as well as iron.
Several consumers have expressed dissatisfaction with the taste when compared to other Puffin gluten free cereal types, and there is a danger of them becoming stale if eaten close to the use by date.
7. Nature’s Path Whole O’s Cereal
Natures Path Whole Os cereal contains wholegrain rice and maize that has been sweetened with pomegranate juice. This gluten-free cereal comes in six 10.6 oz boxes and has no artificial flavors, colors, or preservatives. These Os are also USDA organically certified and Non-GMO Project Verified.
Some purchasers believe they lack taste and are not the ideal pantry option for individuals who prefer the most popular Os. The maize taste may also overshadow the oats in the dish, which may not soften much when the milk is added.
8. Frosted Cheerios Gluten Free Cereal by General Mills Cereal
Frosted Cheerios (gluten free) 19.5 ounce family pack has no artificial colors or flavors and is certified kosher. These are wholegrain Cheerios with 9 grams of sugar per serving, which is more than other sugarier cereals.
While these Cheerios are touted as gluten free and manufactured with wholegrain oats, they may not be safe for celiac disease patients since they are not yet gluten free verified by a third party.
9. Annie’s Organic Cinnabunnies Cereal
Annies organic Cinnabunnies are certified USDA organic and gluten free in a 10 ounce bag. Sorghum flour and white rice flour are used to make this cinnamon cereal. It is USDA organic, Non-GMO Project Verified, and kosher certified. It is made from wholegrains and has no high fructose corn syrup, artificial flavors, colors, or preservatives.
The rare consumer dislikes the taste of this cereal and believes it might be improved if the sugar concentration was lowered.
10. Nature’s Path Envirokids Frosted Amazon Flakes Cereal
Envirokids on the Nature’s Way Frosted Amazon Flakes are gently frosted flakes that retain their crunch when mixed with milk. They are made with gluten-free maize flour and include no artificial preservatives, additives, or colors. They are simply flavored with organic evaporated cane juice and sea salt.
These gluten-free products are also Non-GMO Project Verified, USDA organic, and kosher. Since the company is a member of 1% For The Planet, 1% of the sales of this cereal are contributed to endangered species protection. Some consumers would like reinforced flakes, and as a bulk purchase, this may not suit all buyers.
Considerations Before Purchasing Gluten-Free Cereal
Gluten is a protein family present in a variety of grains, including wheat, as well as grain-based goods such as malt vinegars, food colorings, and beers. Gluten is named for the gluey consistency that gluten creates, and the two primary kinds of protein found in gluten are glutenin and gliadin. The gliadin is the most problematic for one’s health and well-being.
Celiac disease is one of the most serious health issues caused by gluten. According to estimates, one in every 100 individuals worldwide has celiac disease, with 2.5 million Americans untreated and at danger of long-term health problems.
When people with celiac disease consume gluten, their bodies launch an immune reaction that targets the small intestine, destroying the lining cells and preventing nutrients from food from being adequately absorbed. It is also a genetic disorder, with a 10% probability of having it if a close family has celiac disease.
Abdominal discomfort and bloating, headaches, exhaustion, nausea, constipation, or diarrhea are common symptoms, and they might emerge within a few hours after ingesting gluten.
Untreated or poorly managed celiac disease may lead to other auto-immune illnesses such as type 1 diabetes, osteoporosis, and even neurological problems such as migraines or epilepsy.
Gluten sensitivity, also known as non-celiac gluten sensitivity, may affect up to 18 million Americans, and although the symptoms are similar to celiac disease, testing for celiac disease have come up negative. Gluten sensitivity may cause minor damage to the small intestine, but this can be reversed by following a gluten-free diet.
A wheat allergy is an allergy to a protein found in wheat that may or may not contain gluten. This, like any allergy, may be fatal, and persons with wheat allergies should avoid any gluten free cereals that include gluten free wheat, as well as any cereals that may have come into touch with wheat during manufacturing.
Choose Gluten-Free Cereals
Several cereals include wheat-based components or gluten, therefore persons with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity should avoid them.
Cereals manufactured from maize or other grains that are natively gluten-free may have gluten-containing additions such as malt extract or flavorings. These cereals may also be farmed near gluten-containing cereals, or they may be kept or processed in facilities that also handle wheat. This raises the possibility of gluten cross-contamination.
Nevertheless, some certified gluten free cereals are made in facilities that also handle soy or tree nuts, so if you have additional allergies or sensitivities, you should always carefully inspect the cereal box to guarantee you will not come into touch with any of your other allergens.
Many individuals are increasingly excluding gluten from their diets owing to worries about how gluten consumption may damage the body. Gluten may cause bloating in some individuals, even if they do not have a gluten sensitivity, and eliminating gluten helps to reduce bloating.
Gluten may also promote intestinal permeability (or leaky gut), which may lead to an increase in food sensitivities and allergies. However it seems that there are no obvious correlations between gluten and leaky gut in persons who do not have gluten sensitivity or irritable bowel syndrome at the time (IBS).
Corn and oats are two popular grains used in gluten-free cereals, and both are high in fiber as wholegrains. Gluten free cereals are also popular with coconut, almond, and the nutty taste of amaranth or quinoa.
Brown rice has higher nutritious content than white rice; yet, white rice has a somewhat more natural taste, which might make it appealing in cereals, particularly those geared at children. Gluten free cereals prepared with refined gluten free flours or starches might be nutritionally deficient, which is occasionally addressed by the producer fortifying the cereal.
One of the challenges that might occur when buying gluten free cereal is a loss of flavor. This may be advantageous for certain gluten-free customers, since gluten-free cereal can also be used in baked goods, granola bars, breaded poultry, and even as a replacement for breadcrumbs in meatloaf.
Dried fruit, nuts, and seeds are all options. A little of cocoa powder may also be used to flavor gluten-free granola. Flavor concerns become more significant for consumers who desire cereal that can also be used as a dry snack. Cereals with extra natural sugars or tastes such as cinnamon help to make a cereal that is more pleasurable as an occasional snack. The flavor of more neutral cereals may easily be enhanced by adding a little natural sugar, yogurt, or fresh fruit.
Unlike many ordinary cereals, not all gluten free cereals are fortified, therefore the loss of vitamins, minerals, and iron must be compensated for with the remainder of the day’s meals. Gluten free cereals, like other cereals, may be rich in sugar, which can be a concern for many of us, particularly if the sugars are refined sugars like high fructose corn syrup (HFCS), dextrose, or sucrose.
or GMO-free products are often sweetened with natural sugars or may not contain any sugars at all. It should be noted that gluten-free cereals that are certified organic and
Gluten-free cereals are often more expensive than gluten-containing versions, which should be considered while selecting a cereal. Bulk purchases might assist to reduce some of the additional expenditures.
The Gluten-Free Cereals Labeling
According to the FDA, a gluten-free food must have fewer than 20 ppm (parts per million) of gluten. Several cereal and gluten-free food makers prefer to have their goods tested by a third party at a lower level than this. Manufacturers’ websites often give comprehensive information on how they test items for gluten-free certification and may even disclose batch test results.
Cereals that are labeled gluten free and have third-party certification, such as GIGs Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO), are normally regarded appropriate for persons on a gluten-free diet since the gluten concentration is less than 20 ppm.
Packaged goods controlled by the FDA are labeled as part of the FALCPA (Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act), and labeling these items as no gluten, without gluten, or gluten free signifies that the makers meet the FDA’s criteria of less than 20 ppm of gluten. Food goods governed by the USDA rather than the FDA are not required to follow FALCPA requirements, however many producers do so voluntarily. If a company follows FALCPA, the food label will often include something along the lines of: this USDA regulated product conforms with FALCPA.
If a cereal is prepared using gluten-free wheat, it might be branded with the following: The wheat has been treated to fulfill the Food and Drug Administration’s (FDA) gluten-free dietary criteria.
We hope you liked this post about gluten free cereals. We’ve discussed what to look for when selecting a gluten-free cereal, including what the various forms of gluten-free labels truly represent and why people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity must avoid gluten in their diet.
Like with conventional cereals, there is now a wide variety of gluten free cereals available, so whatever your morning preferences are, you should be able to find one that suits your tastes and lifestyle. We hope you found our evaluations of the top gluten free cereals useful and that you can now choose a cereal that will really liven up your morning bowl!